Collins Square, Blackheath, 1945


These weather-boarded cottages in a cul-de-sac off Tranquil Vale may be a unique survival from the agricultural days of Blackheath village.

The court, never truly a square, is named after the Collins family who owned the five fields to the west of Blackheath Village from the 1780s when almost none of the other village houses had been built.

As the suburb grew Collins Square became one of the enclaves in which it's service workers lived. The number of cottages dwindled over the centuries, but the three that remained were well restored in the 1960s.

Drawn by Edgar W. Pitt.

See historic maps of Blackheath