Loampit Hill, Lewisham, 1987


It is often remarked that architects build eccentric homes for their own use.

There are two such homes on Loampit Hill/ Lewisham Way separated by 200 metres and 80 years. The older is 'Stone House' built by George Gibson, architect of St.Mary's Church in 1771 to 1773.

The extraordinary building seen here, 62 Loampit Hill, was built by Alfred Cross, architect of other nearby houses on Loampit Hill and Somerset Gardens. It was built in 1850 and formerly called Beaufort Lodge. The vibrant colour scheme is not original!

See historic maps of Lewisham